Lesson Plan: ⁣Cozy and Delicious: 25 Winter Soup Recipes to Warm Your Soul!

2 Views· 10/04/23
SchoolTube
SchoolTube
2 Subscribers
2
In Food

Lesson Plan: ⁣Cozy and Delicious: 25 Winter Soup Recipes to Warm Your Soul!
Grade Levels: 6-8

Objective:
- To introduce students to the art of making homemade soups and the comfort they bring during the winter season.
- To explore a variety of winter soup recipes and ingredients.
- To develop cooking skills, kitchen safety, and healthy eating habits.

Common Core Standards:
- CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.SL.6-8.1: Engage effectively in a range of collaborative discussions.
- CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.W.6-8.2: Write informative/explanatory texts to examine and convey complex ideas, concepts, and information clearly and accurately.

Materials:
- List of 25 winter soup recipes (e.g., chicken noodle soup, creamy tomato bisque, vegetable minestrone)
- Ingredients and tools specific to each recipe
- Cutting boards and knives
- Cooking pots and pans
- Cooking utensils (e.g., spoons, ladles, spatulas)
- Recipe printouts for each student
- Optional: Tasting bowls and spoons

Procedure:

1. Introduction (10 minutes)
- Begin the lesson by discussing the comfort and warmth associated with winter soups and their importance in cold weather.
- Engage students in a discussion about their favorite winter soups and what makes them comforting.

2. Recipe Selection and Explanation (15 minutes)
- Present the list of 25 winter soup recipes and briefly explain each one, highlighting the key ingredients and flavors.
- Discuss the importance of a balanced diet and encourage students to choose recipes with a variety of vegetables, proteins, and grains.

3. Recipe Preparation and Cooking (30 minutes)
- Distribute the recipe printouts and ingredients specific to each recipe.
- Instruct students to follow the recipe instructions, preparing and cooking the soup according to the given steps.
- Emphasize the importance of kitchen safety, including proper knife handling and heat control.

4. Tasting and Evaluation (15 minutes)
- Once the soups are cooked, provide small tasting bowls and spoons for students to sample their creations.
- Encourage students to evaluate the taste, texture, and overall satisfaction of their soups.

5. Reflective Writing and Discussion (20 minutes)
- Instruct students to individually write a reflective paragraph describing their experience making and tasting the winter soups.
- Facilitate a class discussion where students can share their reflections, discuss their favorite soup, and talk about the nutritional benefits of homemade soups.

6. Extension Activity: Recipe Modification (Optional, 20 minutes)
- Challenge students to modify one of the soup recipes by adding their own unique twist or ingredient.
- Allow students to share their modified recipes and discuss the reasons behind their modifications.

Common Core Labels Correlations:
- CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.SL.6-8.1
- CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.W.6-8.2

Here are our favorite soups, stews and chili recipes for the cold fall and winter months. See below for links to the full recipe ingredients as well clickable time stamps that will allow you to move ahead to each recipe. So sit back, enjoy, and get hungry:0:01 Adult Alphabet Soup http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/adult-alphabet-sou Chicken Alfredo Soup http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/chicken-alfredo-so Copycat Panera Broccoli Cheddar Soup http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/copycat-panera-bro Corned Beef and Cabbage Soup https://www.southernliving.com..../recipes/corned-beef Creamy Tomato-Vegetable Soup https://www.myrecipes.com/reci....pe/creamy-tomato-veg Easy Chili http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/easy-chili4:47 Ham Bone Soup https://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/ham-bone-soup5:14 Instant Pot 2 Minute Taco Soup https://www.myrecipes.com/reci....pe/instant-pot-taco- Instant Pot Butternut Squash Soup https://www.myrecipes.com/reci....pe/instant-pot-butte Pickle Chicken Chowder http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/pickle-chicken-cho Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/quick-chicken-nood Slow Cooker Chicken Soup http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/slow-cooker-chicke Street Corn Soup http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/creamy-street-corn Thai Peanut Sweet Potato Soup http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/thai-peanut-sweet- White Bean, Fennel, and Italian Sausage Soup with Parmesan Toast Recipe http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/white-bean-fennel- White Lightning Chicken Chili http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/white-lightning-ch Beef, Bacon and Beer Stew http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/bacon-and-beef-ste Chicken Barley Soup with Walnut Pesto http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/chicken-barley-sou Chicken, Apple, and Butternut Stew http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/chicken-apple-butt Instant Pot Beef Stew https://www.myrecipes.com/reci....pe/instant-pot-beef- Lemony Chicken and Spinach Soup http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/lemony-chicken-and Slow Cooker Loaded Potato Soup http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/potato-soup18:58 Spicy Clam, Chorizo and White Bean Soup https://www.coastalliving.com/....recipe/spicy-clam-ch Beef and Guinness Stew http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/beef-guinness-stew Slow Cooker Tortilla Soup http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/tortilla-soup-17Su to Well Done ►►http://po.st/Subscribe_WellDoneCONNECT WITH WELL DONEWeb: http://www.myrecipes.com/well-doneTwitter: https://twitter.com/well_done_foodFacebook: https://www.facebook.com/welldonefood/Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/welldonefood/ ABOUT WELL DONEWell Done feeds the food-obsessed with snack hacks, easy and creative recipes, tasty trends and more ways to do it yourself. From Food + Wine and Cooking Light to PEOPLE and Southern Living, we’re giving you all the product reviews, techniques, and homemade meals exclusively from all the brands you love.25 Winter Soups Recipes | Cold Weather Soup and Stew Super Comp | Well Donehttps://www.youtube.com/channe....l/UCBXV31q0rnDbCP9bn

Show more


 0 Comments sort   Sort By


Up next