⁣Lesson Plan: ⁣Yummy and Kid-Friendly: 30 Easy Recipes That Will Make Kids' Taste Buds Happy!

5 Views· 10/04/23
SchoolTube
SchoolTube
2 Subscribers
2
In Food

⁣Lesson Plan: ⁣Yummy and Kid-Friendly: 30 Easy Recipes That Will Make Kids' Taste Buds Happy!
Grade Levels: K-5

Objective:
- To introduce students to a variety of easy and delicious recipes that are specifically designed to appeal to kids.
- To promote healthy eating habits and encourage children to explore different flavors and textures.
- To develop basic cooking skills and foster independence in the kitchen.

Common Core Standards:
- CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.SL.K-5.1: Engage effectively in a range of collaborative discussions.
- CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.W.K-5.2: Write informative/explanatory texts to examine and convey complex ideas, concepts, and information clearly and accurately.

Materials:
- Printed copies of 30 kid-friendly recipes (one per student or group)
- Cooking equipment and ingredients required for selected recipes
- Presentation materials (poster boards, markers, etc.) for showcasing recipe findings

Procedure:

1. Introduction (10 minutes)
- Begin the lesson by discussing the importance of healthy eating and involving children in meal preparation.
- Engage students in a discussion about their favorite foods and what makes them appealing.

2. Recipe Selection and Group Assignments (10 minutes)
- Provide students with a list of 30 kid-friendly recipes and allow them to choose a recipe that they would like to try.
- Divide students into small groups based on their recipe selections.

3. Recipe Exploration and Analysis (30 minutes)
- Instruct each group to thoroughly read and analyze their assigned recipe, paying attention to the ingredients, cooking techniques, and serving suggestions.
- Encourage students to discuss the flavors, textures, and potential modifications they might make to suit their preferences.

4. Cooking and Recipe Presentation (60 minutes)
- Provide students with the necessary cooking equipment and ingredients to prepare their chosen recipe.
- Instruct each group to follow the recipe instructions and make note of any adjustments they make.
- Once the dishes are ready, have each group present their recipe to the class, sharing their findings, experiences, and any variations they made.

5. Reflective Writing and Discussion (20 minutes)
- Instruct students to individually write a reflective paragraph summarizing their experience with the kid-friendly recipe they prepared.
- Facilitate a class discussion where students can share their reflections, discuss the challenges and successes they encountered, and explore the importance of healthy and tasty meals.

Common Core Labels Correlations:
- CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.SL.K-5.1
- CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.W.K-5.2

See below for shortcuts and links to all recipes:0:03 Grilled Ham and Cheese Waffle Sandwich https://www.myrecipes.com/reci....pe/grilled-ham-chees Crispy Oven Fried Chicken http://www.cookinglight.com/re....cipes/crispy-oven-fr Creamy Chicken Enchiladas http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/creamy-chicken-enc Instant Pot Mac and Cheese with Bacon http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/instant-pot-mac-an Sausage Stromboli https://www.myrecipes.com/reci....pe/easy-sausage-stro Chicken and Corn Summer Chowder http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/chicken-corn-summe Chicken Breast with Pancetta Cream and Peas http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/chicken-breast-pan Chicken Chilaquiles Casserole http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/chicken-chilaquile Copycat Panera Brocolli Cheddar Soup http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/copycat-panera-bro Corn Flake Crusted Pork Chops http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/cornflake-coated-p Crock Pot Chicken Teriyaki https://www.myrecipes.com/reci....pe/crock-pot-chicken Honey and Sesame Glazed Chicken Breast http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/honey-sesame-glaze Instant Pot Baby Back Ribs http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/instant-pot-baby-b Instant Pot Sunday Sauce and Meatballs http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/instant-pot-sunday Mac and Cheeseburger https://www.myrecipes.com/reci....pe/mac-cheeseburger1 Meatball Stroganoff http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/meatball-stroganof One Pot Cheesy Pasta Bake http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/one-pot-cheesy-pas Pan Seared Chuck Eye Steaks http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/pan-seared-chuck-e Pasta Chicken Broccoli Bake http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/pasta-chicken-broc Pizza Stuffed Cheeseburgers http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/pizza-stuffed-chee Pressure Cooker Beef and Bean Chili https://www.myrecipes.com/reci....pe/instant-pot-beef- Pressure Cooker Chicken and Dumplings http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/pressure-cooker-ch Roasted Pork Tenderloin and Golden Potatoes https://www.myrecipes.com/reci....pe/roasted-pork-tend Sheet Pan Chicken Parmesan http://www.cookinglight.com/re....cipes/sheet-pan-chic Sheet Pan Fried Rice http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/sheet-pan-fried-ri Slow Cooker Chicken Soup http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/slow-cooker-chicke Southwestern Salmon Skillet http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/classic-lasagna-me Spud-ghetti and Meatballs https://www.myrecipes.com/reci....pe/breakfast-meatbal Taco Tot Casserole http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/taco-tot-casserole Ultimate Unbaked Brownies http://www.myrecipes.com/recip....e/ultimate-unbaked-b to Well Done ►►http://po.st/Subscribe_WellDoneCONNECT WITH WELL DONEWeb: http://www.myrecipes.com/well-doneTwitter: https://twitter.com/well_done_foodFacebook: https://www.facebook.com/welldonefood/Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/welldonefood/ ABOUT WELL DONEWell Done feeds the food-obsessed with snack hacks, easy and creative recipes, tasty trends and more ways to do it yourself. From Food + Wine and Cooking Light to PEOPLE and Southern Living, we’re giving you all the product reviews, techniques, and homemade meals exclusively from all the brands you love.30 Easy Recipes Kids Will Love | Kid Friendly Recipe Super Comp | Well Donehttps://www.youtube.com/channe....l/UCBXV31q0rnDbCP9bn

Show more


 0 Comments sort   Sort By


Up next